04 March 2016

Its only my second day of unemployment, but I still have much to do. I can no longer put off the admin tasks that are pending -that means applying for EI and Alberta Blue Cross.

A quick google search will provide a wealth of resources to review if you do get laid off.

For functional recommendations checkout the following links:

https://hbr.org/2015/07/how-to-bounce-back-after-getting-laid-off

http://www.job-hunt.org/layoffs/surviving-a-layoff.shtml

For more inspirational ones have a look:

http://www.theminimalists.com/fired/

On the list for the rest of today: building myself back up and doing some selfish things. Ultimately that means motorcycle maintenance and LOTS of planning for the many road trips that I’ve been meaning to get to, but have never really found the time to do. A nice haircut, a shined up bike (mmmm clean fork seals -thanks Doctor Seal!!!), and a quick call for some salvage parts can really make a person feel brand new.

On my emotional state: I still can’t believe I was laid off! It still seems like some sort of dream. I’m still riding that wave of euphoria and that sense of wonder and possibility. This really is the happiest I’ve been in a long time.

Have any useful links & comments for the recently unemployed? Feel free to comment down below!!!

Leave a Reply

